When The Rains Come

Soloist
Camera: Zero Image 2000 Pinhole
Film: Fuji Neopan 100

Perhaps it’s the native Pacific Northwesterner in me, but I rather enjoy the cold rainy weather that engulfs this region for much of the year. There’s a rawness to the days where the wind renders your umbrella useless, driving the rain sideways, which warm sunny day simply can’t replicate. Mother Nature’s artful hand on full display as she directs the landscape.

With most of the areas inhabitants taking refuge indoors, many of the most beloved state and federal lands can be had all to yourself. This of course offers a perfect opportunity to bundle up, grab the camera gear, and head out to capture the elements. Much was the case last February when I ventured out to Deception Pass State Park on a particularly cold windy day where mixed rain and snow shared the skies. For a park that sees some 2 million visitors a year, rare are the days when the parking lots, trails and beaches are deserted.

Bare Bones
Camera: Zero Image 2000 Pinhole
Film: Fuji Neopan 100

For much of the afternoon I wandered the wooded trails and beaches in awe of the landscapes constant state of flux. Trees danced while the winds howled and waves crashed against the rocky coastline. With my pinhole camera loaded with Fuji Neopan 100 I set out to capture relentless movement around me. Relatively short exposures (for pinhole photography anyway) of somewhere between 5 and 15 seconds enabled me to record isolated flurries of activity set against what otherwise appears to be stable environments.

By days end I was able to create a handful of images depicting the harsh elements including: an isolated trees struggle to survive, the relentlessness of the pounding surf against jagged rocks, and an old dock attempt to rest atop a restless sea. Once I had finally had enough of Mother Nature’s unsettling mood, I retreated to a nearby brewery for a much needed pint and a bit to eat. After all I do live in Washington State where good locally sourced beer is never to far away.

Fluid Motion
Camera: Zero Image 2000 Pinhole
Film: Fuji Neopan 100

Next time the weather outside doesn’t look so friendly; buck the trend and head out into the elements. You’d be surprised at how inspiring the landscape is in less than favorable conditions. Just remember to always be safe, there is of course a limit to what we can handle from mother nature.

About jsodphotography

Seattle based film photographer. Recording light through a pinhole, Holga, and various 35mm cameras.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Pinhole and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to When The Rains Come

  1. Reblogged this on hipstographerphotography and commented:
    Love the composition of this photo! And also the blurriness of the tree!

  2. neonspndx says:

    I love these photos!

  3. I love the atmosphere in these…that first photograph is especially amazing!

  4. kiwiskan says:

    This is so evocative! I’m reminded of how much I used to love the wildness of the ocean on stormy days and the salt wind in my face. Thanks for the memory

  5. carlossereno says:

    Absolutely agree that bad weather makes for more interesting photography (but more challenging) than clear blue skies.

  6. I just LOVE this post! And I’m so fascinated by your photography. Pinhole seems to be the perfect tool to capture the dramatic weather our beautiful Mother Nature sometimes offer us.
    Thanks to Jana and your fantastic Flickr images, I have ordered a Zero Images 2000, and are right now anxiously but with great anticipation waiting for it (they had no stock)…. It seems to be the perfect pinhole camera I’ve been looking for.
    Thank you very much for visiting my blog, and for your kind words.
    Have a great day!
    Marie

  7. Yes, I love the rain, too, and when the parks are deserted. Beautiful work.

  8. Yani says:

    Jeff, you are a great writer, and you’re inspiring me to get out in the rain (well, this minute anyway, it might fade in a few – ha). And I particularly like the tree shot — quite lovely!

    PS: Very Bacon!

  9. Jack Lowe says:

    Lovely post, Jeff. I’m enjoying your writing style and particularly like ‘Soloist’ in this post.

    Do you print your work? If so, I wonder which methods you enjoy?

    Jack

    • Thanks for the kind words Jack. Currently I’m not printing my own work, not in the traditional darkroom sense anyway. My workflow is a more modern hybrid film-digital method. I have a local develop my film (I’ve dabbled in home development and hope to expand that practice), then I scan the images myself and have them printed by whcc.com

      There is a photography school near me that offers dark room classes that I’ve considered taking. They are a bit expensive though.

  10. simon0252 says:

    Impressive photos, Jeff. I particularly like the first and last – they will make great prints.

  11. Best pinhole photography I’ve seen so far.

  12. love the first and third photos….great pinhole photography….super cool 🙂 thumbs up!!!

Leave a Reply

