What’s Three Minutes To A Thousand Years?

Camera: Zero Image 2000 Pinhole
Film: Kodak Ektar 100
Location: Grove of the Patriarchs – Mount Rainier National Park, Washington State

My time with these ancient elders was short. Of course that’s not saying much when you stand before thousand-year-old trees. I could spend my whole life with them and still go unmentioned in their biographies. Just attempting to consider all that has come to pass in their lifetime is mind-boggling. Wars waged, empires rising to power only to fall to the next. Inventions revolutionized the world simply to be rendered obsolete by another. Man changed the landscape countless times over in the past thousand years, yet nothing toppled these ancient elders. They where here before us, and they will be here after us, let us not take the lessons they offer for granted.

Happy Tree Tuesday everyone! If you’d like to join in on the celebration of trees, please do. There is but one simple rule – post an image (or images) of a tree on Tuesday. Just make sure to add ‘tree tuesday’ as a category or tag so people can find it. OK so I guess there are two rules.

About jsodphotography

Seattle based film photographer. Recording light through a pinhole, Holga, and various 35mm cameras.
This entry was posted in Film Photography, Pinhole, Tree Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What’s Three Minutes To A Thousand Years?

  1. jesusjoglar says:

    Today I posted a tree and I’ll try to do it every Tuesday, although I can’t promise anything!

  2. Those giants really makes me feel humble… And grateful too…
    Love the “man ghost” looking at the trees. It strengthen the feeling of the differences in age between the trees and the human….. Wonderful!
    Happy Tree Tuesday! 😀

  3. endlessframe says:

    I like the idea of double exposure of people, because it helps remind me that we’re all just temporary here, but our actions are long lasting. In this specific case, the way this magnificent trucks will be hear hundreds of years after he is gone.

    Sorry I missed TT this week, I have a quite a few picture of trees and will try to remember to post them! (although I suspect my Tuesday won’t sync up with yours)

    • This actually isn’t a double exposure, I simply stood in the frame of the shot for a period of time during its 3 minute exposure. That being said, I do agree with what you said about our temporary existence on earth. That is exactly what I was going for when I set out to create this photograph.

      I look forward to seeing your photographs as part of the Tree Tuesday celebration, no matter the time difference.

  4. Pingback: Tree Tuesday « 28mmf2

  5. Pingback: Tree Tuesday Number 2 « 28mmf2

Leave a Reply

