Same Scene Different Camera

I’ve never put much stock into the gear aspect of photography. Hand me a camera and I’ll take a picture. Disposable camera, pinhole, Hasselblad, perhaps a Canon 5D Mark II, as long as it works I’ll shoot with it. After all, the camera doesn’t take the photo, you do. Assuming you have a grasp on the basics of photography, then you possess the ability to take stunning photographs no matter the gear available to you. Personally the less time I spend thinking about the camera itself, the better. It means my time is freed up, allowing me to focus on creating my photographs, rather than reacting to the camera.

This is not to say that each camera doesn’t have its corks and nuances, they do, some more than others. I’m simply suggesting their individual specifications don’t mean nearly as much as your intuition and drive to create. To often those starting out in photography focus their attention on the perceived quality of their camera. I was no different, spending several years suffering from inadequate gear syndrome. Such beliefs stunt your growth as a photographer. I truly believe ones ability to conquer this misconception goes along way in terms of their ability to transition from taking pictures to making photographs.

The pictures below where made from the same location along the Silver Falls Trail in Mount Rainier National Park, with two drastically different cameras, on completely separate days.

Camera: Zero Image 2000 PinholeFilm: Kodak Ektar 100

Camera: Zero Image 2000 Pinhole
Film: Kodak Ektar 100

Camera: Holga 120NFilm: Kodak Ektar 100

Camera: Holga 120N
Film: Kodak Ektar 100

About jsodphotography

Seattle based film photographer. Recording light through a pinhole, Holga, and various 35mm cameras.
This entry was posted in Film Photography, Holga, Photogarphy, Pinhole and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Same Scene Different Camera

  1. To a certain extent I would suggest it’s better to have a jolly good tripod.
    I think it would be fair to say that I adapt my photography to the type of camera I have – I like think I have developed the ability to ‘see’ the result – I point my dslr at things I wouldn’t point my mf/35mm at and vice versa.
    But I wholly support your suggestion regarding the capability of any camera.

    • Tripods are indeed an important part of any photographers arsenal of tools. You bring up a good point, cameras of different formats do require the person behind it to think a bit differently with them in their hands. Even still its up to you to create something with it. Thanks so much for the thoughtful comment.

  2. kiwiskan says:

    I agree with the tripod comment – need to get one. Having said that, I really like that shot taken with the pinhole camera

  3. janaobscura says:

    Great to see these images side by side Jeff. Where are those Olympic National Park images? I was displeased with a majority of mine and would love to see yours!

  4. lexymeliss says:

    You really do make your way to some beautiful locations, I can’t wait to do that again.

  5. Both images are very beautiful, yet so different… You are right about the gear thing, but I find it so refreshing (for myself) to force myself to think different due to the camera I chose. Depends on what expression I’m looking for. And then the choice of film too…
    All this is probably because I get so easily bored and in need of constant challenges….. 😉

    • Great point. Picking a film is indeed a big factor when deciding how to capture a scene. Even the difference between two color films can drastically change how a landscape is captured. I love that about film photography.

  6. kiwiskan says:

    We are struggling with our photography at present though. We have a standard digital camera with no frills – but have trying to take more and more bird photography. Really frustrating without DLSLR. Maybe one day we’ll be able to afford one!!

Leave a Reply

