Second Only In Name

Camera: Zero Image 2000 PinholeFilm: Kodak Ektar 100 (converted to BW)Location: Second Beach - Olympic National Park, Washington State

Camera: Zero Image 2000 Pinhole
Film: Kodak Ektar 100 (converted to BW)
Location: Second Beach – Olympic National Park, Washington State

Second Beach is a secluded stretch of oceanfront located within the confines of the Olympic National Park. Access requires a two-mile hike through a Sitka spruce filled coastal forest, just long enough to keep the crowds at bay. For those who do make the trek, over a mile worth of beach awaits to be explored. The beauty of this place is enough to take your breath away. Driftwood logs line the beach, while the Quillayute Needles, a collection of islets and sea stacks, stand just offshore.

While in La Push, Washington last summer for a wedding, I was able to spend a few hours of solitude wondering Second Beach. I do this quite often on group camping trips and vacations, rising early to go for a hike while everyone is still sleeping off the previous nights shenanigans. My friends think I’m crazy getting up early, often before dawn, to go hiking. To me though, nothing beats an early morning walk on the beach, especially one that requires a hike through dense old growth forest to get there. Besides I generally get back to camp just as coffee and breakfast are being served, feeling refreshed and ready for the day.

Originally I shot these images in color, with Kodak Ektar 100, but the gray overcast skies resulted in dreary washed out tones. I feel the black and white conversion better represents the raw nature of the landscape as I experienced that day. 

About jsodphotography

Seattle based film photographer. Recording light through a pinhole, Holga, and various 35mm cameras.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Film Photography, Photogarphy, Pinhole and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Second Only In Name

  1. walter says:

    Like the smooth atmosphere and the framing of this triptych. A great location and an awesome mood!

  2. kiwiskan says:

    Love these shots. Good choice to use as black and white

  3. jesusjoglar says:

    I perfectly understand you; when I’m traveling out of BCN I use to go out early in the morning while my wife sleeps to take pictures of the city we are visiting without the need to rush and also with nobody orund.
    I like the b&w treatment a lot, the atmosphere looks cold and the sense of loneliness is great!

    • I tend to not get much done photographically when I’m around other people. That’s not their fault of course, I just tend to be to distracted and worried they want to move on faster than I do. So these solo adventures are perfect. Plus when everyone is sleeping I don’t have to worry about missing out on any of the fun.

  4. Fantastic landscape and images. They are perfect in bw!

  5. Thanks Marie. I don’t often convert my color scans to BW, but the color just looked so drab. I really like how this turned out.

Leave a Reply

