The Mountain

Camera: Zero Image 2000 PinholeFilm: Kodak Ektar 100Location: Mountain Loop Highway, Washington State

Camera: Zero Image 2000 Pinhole
Film: Kodak Ektar 100
Location: Mountain Loop Highway, Washington State

Growing up in the shadow of the Cascade Range, many mountains have played the role of ‘the mountain’ in my life. First it was Mount Rainier, or ‘the mountain’ as everyone in the Puget Sound region refers to it. Its hard not to notice this majestic peak looming over the region, even on a cloudy day you can find it on nearly every license plate in the state. One of my favorite family photos was taken up on Mount Rainier at Paradise, I was maybe 4 or 5 years old at the time, the whole family smiling cheek to cheek in our best late ’80s fashions with the mountain in the background. In more recent years I’ve taken a pleasure in my solo trips up to Rainier for day hikes and overnight camping trips.

In college Mount Baker became the mountain. My first apartment came with a unobstructed view of Baker from the living room, and outside deck. For two years I gazed out at one of the snowiest peaks in the world, knowing full well it was the highlight of my otherwise unassuming dwelling. Many people attend Western Washington University simply because of its close proximity to Baker, the mountain, tailoring their winter quarters to maximize their amount of time spent up on the mountain skiing and snowboarding. Hard to blame them really, its quite a place.

More recently Mount Pilchuck (pictured above), has become the mountain in my life. Last summer my parents bought a modest piece of recreation property with a picturesque view of Pilchuck. She may not be as well known as Mt. Rainier or Mt. Baker but she’s certainly majestic in her own right. I’ve taken to photographing her quite a lot, though this is the first image I’ve shared on Flickr. This spring I plan on doing a solograph pinhole exposure pointed in her direction, and come summer my goal is to climb to the top where an observation tower rests. Mountains are meant to be experienced and explored after all, and what better way than to walk along it’s tree lined backbone up to the summit?

Happy Tree Tuesday everyone!

About jsodphotography

Seattle based film photographer. Recording light through a pinhole, Holga, and various 35mm cameras.
This entry was posted in Film Photography, Photogarphy, Pinhole, Tree Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Mountain

  1. realitysosubtle says:

    Stunning photo! Well done.

  2. Happy Tree Tuesday πŸ˜‰

  3. Barbara Thomas says:

    Beautiful picture………..Love your location

  4. evelyn says:

    beatuiful photo, love the soft colours of the sky!
    happy tree tuesday!

  5. Marie says:

    I view to die for…. This is fantastic!
    Did you get any studying done with the view you described from your first apartment? I know I wouldn’t…..
    Happy Tree Tuesday! πŸ™‚

    • I was very much a last minute, up all night in the school library cramming for tests and writing papers tell dawn kinda guy in college πŸ™‚ So in a way, yes but I could have done much better with my time.

Leave a Reply

